Seattle Pen Club Meeting November 18, 2012

I was very fortunate to attend a meeting of the Seattle Pen Club! This was my very first fountain pen club meeting and it was wonderful. Everyone was welcoming and so willing to share their wisdom and talk about fountain pens and inks. I was so impressed with the pen collections. As our host, George Long, requested, everyone brought their fall colored pens. You can see by the photos there were impressive pen collections at the table.

I got to try a Sailor 1911 with a John Mottishaw nib. Bill Sexauer says, try this pen. I tried it. It was so smooth and light to the hand, the line it laid down was expressive, not too wide. Wow. He said, it’s the best writer I’ve ever had. I said, Bill this is one of the best writers anyone could have. I have a Pelikan 800 M with a Greg Minuskin 1.1 stub, it is also an excellent pen with very good nib, the Mottishaw is better in my humble opinion.

I brought my collection of ink samples, most of them are from Goulet Pens. We had a great time trying different colors in pens. Jim Wolfe did a beautiful pen lettering trial of J. Herbin 1670 Rouge Hematite. This ink if you haven’t tried it, lays down red when wet and dries to a red shading to brown sheen. It was spectacular in Spencerian script. I’ll post a picture of the lettering tomorrow. Jim took most of the pictures of the pen club meeting, the non-blurry ones.

I was able to see an Esterbrook sac replacement. In what I’m learning is typical fountain pen enthusiast generosity, Ken Schillinger replaced the sac. He also shared information on what he was doing, the adhesive and talc he used. I was so impressed. John, the person who brought the pen, he said now he can write his Christmas cards and tried to talk Ken into letting him buy him a cup of coffee. Ken said, now you know how, do one for someone who needs a sac replacement.

If you look at the pictures, you’ll notice a father and son. The boy is looking on with real interest as a member was talking pens.

I didn’t get to talk to everyone and if I’ve mangled some names, please accept my apologies, again my thanks.

20121119-185621.jpg

20121119-185642.jpg

20121119-185703.jpg

20121119-185827.jpg

20121119-185846.jpg

20121119-185918.jpg

20121119-185931.jpg

20121119-185946.jpg

20121119-185957.jpg

Leave a Reply

